Nursery Inspiration

Here is a project with a due date.  Project nursery.  We are currently expecting our 3rd child and low and behold, we are having a little girl.  My inner decorator immediately gets to planning the nursery.  While there is still plenty of time until our little girl is here….I’ve compiled some inspiration pics to preview my plans for the nursery.

WALLPAPER

So it all started with one picture that made me instantly choose my nursery’s theme and color palette.

6a00d8341c6a0853ef017743f0a5ad970d-800wiWallpaper: Oh Joy! Petal Pusher in Gold $125 per Roll

Available online at Hygge & West

The wallpaper isn’t cheap but it will definitely be my biggest splurge for the room.  The rest will be done in true DIY fashion.  So after seeing this photo I decided that I wanted to break away from your traditional baby decor and make it a little more trendy.  So the color palette is Gold, Cream and Pink (and I may need to throw in a touch of my signature Teal color…just because I love it).  This wallpaper will be used on an accent wall behind the crib.

CRIB

My cousin was nice enough to give me her crib to use.  It’s a really nice looking crib and is currently an espresso color.  I love the idea of painting the crib pink.  Here is an inspiration picture for what I plan to do with the crib.

How-to-Paint-a-Crib

While I love the color of this crib… I’m thinking more pink to better incorporate with my theme.  I researched some different paints to see which ones would be safest to use around babies.  I found a safe, non-toxic paint in a color I love by Lullaby Paints.

  hydran_pr_03hydran_pr_02

Color: Hydrangea $59.00 per gallon

The idea is to paint the crib with this and get a nice chalky pink to go nicely with my gold and cream tones.

CHANGING TABLE/DRESSER

For this project I plan on finding a dresser in good condition at my local thrift store or through craigslist.  I’m still debating about whether or not I’d like to paint it white or use the same paint as the crib.  Here  are some inspiration pictures I’ve been looking at to get a better idea of what I want.

Dresser Makeover

I just love the border and look of this dresser.  The nice thing about a changing table is that you can make it out of any dresser.  Just throw a changing pad on top of it and you’ve got yourself a changing table.

Leave a comment